A Year of Self-Love: 31/365

A month ago I wrote a post about choosing to actively love myself in 2017 – physically, mentally, emotionally.

Here’s what I’ve learned in the last 31 days:

Love my Body 

In the 31 days since I began my self-love journey, I’ve moved away from a mentality of “I have to lose 25 pounds because I hate the way my body looks” to accepting that, while it would be great to lose the weight, I cannot get stuck into always focusing on the fact that it sucks to be overweight.

Negativity breeds negativity and positivity breeds positivity. 

I joined this season’s Whole Life Challenge, which focuses on way more than what I eat, but also on the quality of my sleep, hydration, stretching and more. This is the second time I’ve done WLC and I’m hoping to walk away this year with a better long-term approach to my health. Already this month I’ve dropped more weight than I planned to thanks to better eating habits and the occasional run. And I’ve scheduled an appointment with a nutritionist to chat about emotional eating and how I can manage it.

Be Spontaneous + Live in the Moment 

I just returned from three glorious nights at Atlantis Resort on Paradise Island, Bahamas with friends. While I pretty much bombed my WLC compliance every day, I accept that life can’t be lived inside of the box all the time – vacation usually means overindulging and that’s okay.

Don’t focus on where you failed; just get back on the horse and keep going.

Appreciate the Here and Now 

Yesterday my daughters joined me in the garden for a bit of planting. According to my weekly schedule, I should have been running two miles but instead we got down and dirty, poked a few earthworms, found a hen sitting on her eggs in our fern and screamed for our lives when a cockroach crawled out of the soil onto my arm.

Sometimes deviating from the schedule is necessary.

Run More Miles + Avoid Overanalysing

This Sunday 5 February, I will join forces with five amazing women to run across Grand Cayman during the Cross-Island Relay. We’ll each take on four miles and, to be honest, I’m freaking out a bit. I’m no beginner to running, but every time I lace up my shoes for a race I get nervous about my performance, especially when others are counting on me. But I’m trying really hard this time around not to over-think things – don’t focus on your pace, your time or how long you anticipate you’ll take to hand over the baton – but to just get out there and do my best. Pray for me on this one.

Namaste

Every time I do yoga, I love it more and more.

I need to commit to my practice and dedicate one day – one hour – to letting the world carry on without me and just being still with myself and my thoughts.

See the Silver Lining 

I started this year with a goal to pay off my credit card debt by 31 December – I want to go into 2018 without debt. So as not to feel overwhelmed (and to stay on top of things) I gave myself a monthly goal. Today is the last day of January and I missed my goal by $400. Bummer. But here’s the sweet part: even with the unexpected bills I faced this month, I managed to pay something and I have a plan to help me get back on track in February.

It’s okay to fail, as long as you don’t stay there.

Peace and love
Naz

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

