A Year of Self-Love: 89/365

Every week for four solid weeks I’ve accepted the request by a Fitbit Friend to join a ‘weekday hustle’. The objective is to win with the most steps taken in the current work week. So far, I haven’t won.

I’m up against some tough competition. Two of the women hustling in my group are elite steppers, racking up some 15,000-18,000 steps daily. Meanwhile, I’m trying all sorts of strategies to earn extra steps without actually committing to going for a six-mile walk/run each day – I’m a mom of three, time is precious and, yes, so is my health, but mom’s don’t really have that kind of time … unless they’re running at 4am or 10pm, which I am definitely not.

Anyway, I digress.

A small part of me knows there’s no way in hell I will ever win a challenge if these ladies are in my group, but that doesn’t stop me from getting out there and taking the long way to work, going up and down the stairs a few times just to keep up or waking up an extra 30 minutes early so I can walk a mile before I start the day.

The point, for me, is not to win the challenge (okay, that’s not the first priority, but winning would be nice too). The point is, getting the recommended 10,000 steps every day does something for my mental health.

This morning, instead of turning on my playlist, I walked in silence. I listened to the world around me wake. I saw the sky change from black to deep purple to pink and blue and finally the sun flooded it in bright orange.

IMG_20170330_082043_566

I heard the birds singing their morning song. I heard the chickens root around in the trash bin for breakfast and the roosters crow to wake the troop. I heard the passing of public buses as the early shift folks made their way to work. I heard my neighbours washing their dishes from the open kitchen windows.

I smelled a load of laundry being washed and the scent of someone taking a shower with Irish Spring, which brought back a ton of childhood memories of summers spent at my aunt’s house; she loved Irish Spring.

I felt my steps start out slow and sluggish as I shook off the morning grogginess and eventually quicken as I rounded the bend somewhere around the 2000th step.

I woke up.

I woke up with the world.

In that moment, as I put one foot in front of the other, I realised that I am blessed to see another day. I am blessed to be given the opportunity to live another day, to witness the sun rise, to hear the birds, to wake my kids, to go to work, to live life.

In that moment, I realised that even though I may always lose the battle of the workweek hustle, I am winning the war against depression.

Peace and love xo
Naz

4 thoughts on “A Year of Self-Love: 89/365

Add yours

  1. Naz,

    I too struggle to get the 10K of steps in each day…. have found, like you, that going up the stairs… all the way to the top (5th floor) adds 350 or so steps… do that every hour!

    I also have commenced 30 minute strolls in the morning and delight in seeing each day waking up!

    I would enjoy taking walks with you during the day, around the hallways or even better, outside around Camana Bay .. a place we created for all to experience life, so why shouldn’t we???

    Come find me anytime … and I committ to come find you for a walk… after all, will make is both more creative and connected. Remember, baby steps … leads us to a lifetime.

    Live Love Laugh… with steps …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would love this! Let’s get out there and have mini brainstorm sessions. Thank you for your continued support and non-judgement; you silently hold my hand and it’s nice knowing that you have my back. You are an inspiration to me in so many ways.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

